Enter a search term to find content on the site below.


5℃ / 41


  • Fri
    8℃ / 46
  • Sat
    6℃ / 43

Board of Directors

Banff & Lake Louise Tourism (BLLT) is a member based organization governed by the Board of Directors. The board consists of twelve elected members, each of whom is elected by a defined business category, and two appointed directors, one representing Parks Canada and the other the Town of Banff. Elected directors are elected for terms of three years; appointed directors are appointed annually.

The responsibilities of the Board of Directors are for the overall management and control of BLLT subject to the organization’s bylaws

List of board members

Improvement District #9
Dave Riley Sunshine Ski Resort
Lake Louise
Robin Locke Lake Louise Ski Resort
David Roberts Fairmont Banff Springs
Ron Bateman Rundlestone Lodge Hotel
Gord Lozeman Banff Caribou Properties
Jessica Pacheco Banff Hospitality Collective
Trevor Long Rimrock Resort Hotel
Barbara Pelham Canada House Gallery
Chelsea Cudmore Cool As A Moose
Mark Hendriske Brewster Travel Canada
Pete Woods SkiBig3
Travel, Attractions, & Entertainment
Jonathan Welsh Discover Banff Tours
Parks Canada
Dave McDonough Parks Canada
Melanie Kwong (Alternate) Parks Canada
Town of Banff
Karen Sorensen Town of Banff
Stavros Karlos (Alternate) Town of Banff

Role of Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is accountable to the members of BLLT for the following:

  • Ensuring the actions and expenditures of BLLT do not fall outside of the objects of the organization.
  • Establishing the mission, vision, goals and expected results for BLLT.
  • Providing overall strategic direction for BLLT, and ensuring that an effective strategic planning and monitoring process is in place.
  • Appointing the CEO who is accountable for meeting the Board’s expectations for the performance of BLLT.
  • Reviewing and approving the annual report, including the audited financial statements, to be presented to the membership of BLLT at the Annual General Meeting.


Meetings are held on a regular basis and commence at 12 noon. An all-day meeting is held in June or July for members of the Board of Directors to establish the strategic direction of the organization for the following year. Directors are expected to attend the Annual General Meeting of the members which is held in April of each year. Directors can choose to become a member of the standing committees of the board or of any other board committee that is established.

If you would like to see a copy of the minutes from any board of directors meetings, please contact Althea Smith-Hay at asmithhay@banfflakelouise.com.

Board of directors terms & seats  


Unless authorized by special resolution, the Directors serve without remuneration, however the board has the authority to pay any reasonable expenses in connection with any meeting held and any reasonable out-of-pocket expenses necessarily incurred by the Directors in fulfilling their responsibilities.


An elected Director must be either a full member or must be an employee, officer or director of the full member of the business category for which a vacancy exists.


Elected directors may only serve for two consecutive three year terms. Directors who have served for two consecutive three year terms are eligible for re-election after a waiting period of three years.

Nominations for a position determined by a by-election are for the remainder of the term and do not count for the purposes of determining the number of consecutive terms served.


The elected director will take office immediately following the Annual General Meeting.

Board of directors election information

Upcoming Elections for Board of Directors to represent the following business categories:

2018 2019 2020
1 x Lodging 1 x Lodging 1 x Lodging
1 x Restaurant 1 x Restaurant 2 x Retail
1 x Ski 1 x Service 1 x TA&E
  1 x ID#9  
  1 x Lake Louise  

To find out more information about the nomination and election process, please contact Althea Smith-Hay at asmithhay@banfflakelouise.com.